POP Pilates: Newbie Instructor thoughts

Screen Shot 2016-07-10 at 11.46.27 PM

I still can’t believe I’m certified!!! ah! Now I gotta get down to business…(to defeat…the huns lol)

It’s been a month since I’ve been officially certified, and I haven’t actually been teaching anywhere yet…I’m still learning the rest of the tracks to the full hour class, while also taking my accelerated summer courses for grad school. It kind of sucks to have school take precedence, as I’d much rather be studying tracks and looking for a place to teach! There’s a lot of things I have to take into consideration if I want to teach off on my own, though. Such as:

  • Personal liability insurance:Β if I want to teach outside at a park and whatnot, I’ll have to get this to cover my butt–It just sucks because the cheapest on I’ve found costs about $150/year…It’s not like I’m going to be making that much money in the first place, either! I think this is the major thing that’s stopping me… why do I have to spend more money to make money??? :\
  • ASCAP/BMI insurance: to allow meΒ using music in a public area.

It’s frustrating because people keep asking me “where are you teaching at?” and all I have to tell them is “oh nowhere yet…” Sigh. I just want to start teaching already! πŸ˜› This is probably why most people teach at gyms, since they have all these areas taken care of… The only issue I have is that I won’t be able to teach my friends/family who don’t have gym membership. I’m not a fan of exclusivity, y’know?

 

Leave a Reply

