Silver Linings: POP Instructor thoughts

Yesterday was…an interesting day. But I think this quote is the perfect representation of yesterday:

pic1546516

Here is the dark gloomy part of the cloud:

So yesterday’s POP Pilates class left me feeling a bit discouraged. Only 4 people showed up (two newbies, two regulars)! And it felt like such a mess because I think the lack of people threw my game off. I spent the week before preparing some new tracks, visualizing a nice group of 10-12 people dying together during the 100’s track. What’s funny is that even though I prepared so much for this class compared to other classes–I just felt so off. My cues were wobbly, and some of the tracks were a bit faster for my new students. I hope they didn’t walk away discouraged. However, I did talk to one of them and let them know if they have any suggestions on how to make their experience better to let me know, so I’m hoping that helped. It’s tough. My goal is to get 20 people attending my class, so comparing that with the number of people who showed up yesterday is kinda sad. I’ve

There are too many doubts running through my head.

Is it because of me? Did I make it too hard and not give enough modifications? Did I scare people away? Is it because it’s spring break?  Is it because I only teach once a week? 

And here is the silver linings part:

Even though there were fewer people than last week, I feel like it gave me a little more freedom and more time to talk to my students. What’s nice is that the two regulars (a couple) told me that they really enjoy POP and have been attending my classes for three weeks now. The guy also said that now he knows he should do POP before working out, rather than after because now he knows how much of a real workout it is! So that was really cool. Honestly, I just hope the four people who did show up had a good time. The couple said they were going to be back next week, so yay! I need to find a way to get more regulars lol.

0238

And overall, I need to focus on the positives. I’m planning on asking the front desk to announce my class next time, so I hope that works in getting more people! *crosses fingers* For those who teach group fitness classes, have you ever had this problem? Any tips on how to keep people coming back?

*UPDATED 5/14/17: So those two weeks were really weird because the weeks after that (up until now) I’ve had steady numbers of 9-11 students! So I think it’s just a process of new people trying it out, or people being really busy that week, that made the numbers fluctuate so much. But so far my classes have been fairly consistent, and really fun! It’s nice when you can establish regulars and introduce new people to POP Pilates 😉

2 thoughts on “Silver Linings: POP Instructor thoughts

  1. Shaina Mckinnon says:

    I stumbled upon your site while nervously searching google about becoming certified in POP. I have a couple weeks before I send in my eval video and take my test. Anyway, thank you for everything that you post! It really, really helped me reading through your posts and calming my nerves a bit!

    Liked by 1 person

    • mintelatesfitnessjourney says:

      Hi Shaina, thanks so much for leaving a comment–That’s so awesome you’re in the process of becoming a POP instructor, I’m excited for you! So glad my post could help you feel a little less worried about your eval/test. Please keep me updated, and good luck with everything! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

